Lab4 – E-learning Exercise

  1. Does multi-tasking give you a real or false sense of having accomplished something?
  • For me multi-tasking is not my forte. I cannot do more that three things at once. For example, sweeping the floor, smsing and listening to music. It only makes things worse for me. However if we are refering multi-tasking as doing various work within a specific time, I could do that only if there are no set backs from other workloads. Therefore, as a whole, in terms of managing school work and assignments, I will say that multi-tasking gives me  real sense of accomplishing something.
  1. Is learning 3D design different from programming, or is all learning the same way? Why?
  • 3D design and programming are two different aspects and concepts for me to relate to. Programming is mostly on coding, coding and coding; although there is only a tiny bit of design to it. Personally programming is okay with me. However, it almost killed me during the last semester module. 3D design on the other hand is mostly on design, design and design. You need to familliarise yourself with the tools and try to mix and match different tools to create an object or a shape that you desire. Although it sounds almost the same as a programming terminology, however 3D rely solely on visual perception and I rely on that concept alot.
  1. In the article states that”Learning is actually a very complex operation for an individual”.Do you agree with this? Do you feel that you approach your learning in the best way – if yes,how, and if no,how can you change your work style?
  • Without a doubt, I agree with the statement stated in the article with much confidence. Learning is very complex operation for each of us to get used to. We must know what type of learning process we are categorized in. Some of us learn through their visual, learning from what they see. A few learn by listening and many learn by practicing and revise through the work until they get used to it. I think that I have approached my learning in the best way by practicing what I have learned in school and applying it to my daily life. However, I am not that satisfied with my method of learning as i tend to get distracted at times. To overcome this problem, I think I should complete the works that has to be done and then get sometime to cooldown and play a few games before continuing the next work. But I have to balance out between fun time and work time. But personally, I think i can do it.
  1.  What are your thoughts about the last paragraph in the extract?
  • The last paragraph is up to us to decide at the end of the day. We can choose to do something whole heartedly or we can do it blindly and not putting any effort onto it. It is all on the choices we make. If we want something to happen, we will make it happen; if we want to. The decision to do it is all in the palm of our hands. Same goes for this course we chose in TP. You get the course that you want to go and you are interested in this course, you will do the assignments, projects and exams whole heartedly. As for me, I chose IMI so that I can learn animation. Sadly, during the previous semester, animation programming has left a bad taste in my tongue. You can say that I was rather disappointed with myself particularly because I lost my drive during the year 1.2. However this semester, I am trying my best not to let that fire in me die. I will give my 110%  if possible to accomplish what i want for my future.
  1. Should your lecturers also focus on your work attitude, or just leave you to sink or swim on your own? Why?
  • In my opinion, I think that lecturer not only should but ‘must’ focus on our work attitude. Our work attitude will let the lecturers know what are our strengths and weaknesses. For example, if a lecturer knows that there are a handful of student are not that good in a specific subject, they should assist them so that they understand much better even if that subject is not their forte. Also I dont think that lecturers should let students sink in a subject. As said earlier, assist the weak ones and let those who are much better in that subject to be independent as it helps both lecturers and that students.
Leave a Reply

